Modern Disco

Here is a 1970’s inspired look I put together. (I was going for a modern “if the Charlie’s Angels went to Studio 54” type of seventies look.)

I went with a wide legged trouser jean, sequined top, and a black blazer, all atop a pair of round toe black pumps with a very slight platform.

20120529-120312.jpg

For my face, I did a toned down (and swapped out black for green) version of this look from Kevin Aucoin’s Making Faces:

20120529-123251.jpg

Here it is. See? Toned down. Though I was going to perform, so I threw on some individual false lashes. Still toned down.

20120529-120428.jpg

My hair was totally daring. And by totally daring, I mean parted in the center instead of the side (as well as slightly feathered). I’m pretty sure the last time I seriously wore a center part was 1996. Isn’t it the weirdest thing how something as simple as changing the location of your part makes your whole face look different?

20120529-121928.jpg

And, of course, my caviar mani topped off the disco vibe I’ve got going on.

20120529-122120.jpg

I think I pulled off a very particular look without crossing the line into being costumey or kitsch.

xo,
Elle

Leave a Reply

