Headband Curls

Headband curls are by far my favorite no heat curling method. It is the simplest method I’ve found for overnight waves and also yields (what I consider) the best results. (Read about my hair personality issues here.)

There are so many great headband curl tutorials out there that I’m not going to flood the Internet with another. Check out this one and then read my helpful hints below.

Start with hair that is only slightly damp (via washing or via spritzing with water.) If it is wet (or even very damp) it will never dry. Even with only slightly damp hair, make sure you allow about seven to eight hours for hair to dry fully around the headband/s.

You can technically use any elasticized headband but I prefer the ugly thick cottony ones, like the one on the left below. They are comfy to sleep in and don’t leave a weird dent in your hair. The skinnier type on the right works too, I just don’t like them as much. I cover the whole thing with a slumber cap I picked up at my local beauty supply store. I won’t lie, it is a terrible look, but it keeps the hair in place as you sleep.

20120502-204021.jpg

I’ve found that using one headband yields flipped ends, like this:

20120502-204113.jpg

While using two, one above the other, like so: (Note that I do wrap my hair rather loosely around the headbands.)

20120502-204154.jpg

…yields beachier waves, like this: (please disregard my bare face. I needed a break from makeup)

20120502-204251.jpg
FYI, this is less wavy than usual, due to my hair reacting to both the ridiculously high level of humidity in the air and the deep conditioning I did the night before.

Both looks are great. Experiment and see what works for you!

xo,
Elle

PS, I’m really proud of myself for posting a makeupless photo of myself for all of the Internet to see.

Leave a Reply

