Maxi Skirts and Oxford Shirts

I really wanted to find a way to wear this pleated maxi skirt to work, so I needed to figure out how to make it seem a little less casual. (To me, maxi skirts usually scream barbecues, summer shopping trips, and nights out to off off Broadway shows followed by overpriced lattes at a sidewalk cafe. I love all of the aforementioned activities. They don’t really scream “professional” though, do they? Didn’t think so.)

20120430-205759.jpg
Pleated Maxi Skirt: LYS, Oxford Shirt: old, Glitter Flats: Qupid

Enter this old white oxford shirt from the back of my closet. It dressed up the skirt enough to turn my knit skirt into a work friendly outfit. Tying it up above my waist (instead of tucking it in) made it just funky enough for my tastes. Add sparkly jewelry and a big bun on top of my head, and I was ready for not only a day at the office but also a late dinner out with friends. All hail the double duty outfit (which, btdubs, looked way better in person than it does in this photo).

20120430-205933.jpg
Necklace: Guess, Feather Ring: Amrita Singh, Evil Eye Bracelet: random street fair, Butterfly Ring, Tennis Bracelet, Earrings: my own fine jewelry.

Incidentally, I saw M that evening and asked for her opinion on my outfit. She thought it a bit “costumey.” To be perfectly honest, I don’t mind that assessment at all. Aren’t all clothes costumes in one way or another?

xo,
Elle

Leave a Reply

