Elle’s Favorite Places To Shop Part One (Brick and Mortar Edition)

20120501-105926.jpg
Hello Lovelies!

Just wanted to share some of my favorite places to shop with all of you! I like to shop like it is a competitive sport and I feel that I always win. I am by no means cheap, but I love, love, love to save (because in my mind, the more I save, the more I get to buy). My favorite receipts always have that little “You’ve saved $XX.XX,” on the bottom. Saving more than I’ve spent makes me feel like I’ve pulled off an amazing feat of shopperdom.

Here are my favorite places to shop, in no particular order:

Nordstrom Rack– M is certainly not alone in her love for this oft hidden gem. Nordstrom Rack has an amazing plus sized selection. You can find everything here from outer and evening wear to casual cardis, pants, and blouses. And the shoe department is AMAZING. While the Rack does lack the fabulous Ladies’ Lounge and Cafe that regular Nordy’s has, it is definitely the most well laid out discount store in existence. (Tip: You’re allowed 15 items in the dressing room at once! Take advantage of that!)

Nordstrom– If in need of an evening gown or underthings, do not pass go, do not collect $200, just go directly to Nordstrom. The lovely ladies in the Intimates department will give you a fabulous fitting and suggestions. The clothing departments all house a great variety of sale stuff. And you will (guaranteed) find at least a half dozen cocktail dresses you’ll love. Heavenly shoe department and great cosmetics too. Head to the Cafe for lunch on your way out. Order the tomato soup and the salad with the pears. Swoon over your love for Nordy’s.

TJ Maxx– Great finds, but you have to really dig. TJ Maxx is not easy “pull it off the rack, things are in order” shopping. You must sort through racks and racks of clothing to unearth the greatness within. It is completely worth it though. My TJ Maxx even has a Runway Department, which regularly has Gucci, Pour La Victoire, Badgley Mishka, Halston, and the like.

Marshall’s– Just like TJ Maxx, just without the luxury brands. You’ll find Cynthia Rowley and Sam Edleman, but not a Prada in sight. Don’t forget to check out the housewares departments in both Marshall’s and TJ Maxx.

Forever 21– Great plus size department. Clothes are super cheap, so you can stock up here on trendier items that you’ll only wear once or twice. Cheap accessories galore. Word to the wise: try everything on in F21. Some things (like woven tops) tend to run a bit small. And don’t forget to stock up on the $3 and $5 camis.

H&M– I can spend hours in H&M (and I have). They don’t technically sell plus sized clothing, but their sizing is completely irregular and I own some items from them in an XL and some in a Medium (all of which fit perfectly). The secret to shopping at H&M is to not rule anything out and to try everything on. I’m talking multiple fitting room trips here, girls. This is sport shopping at its best. Don’t leave without some of their super comfy flats and über cheap accessories.

Annie Sez– Again, here’s a store with no plus size department, but loads of things that you can make work for you. My first two Shopping Commandments: Know Thy Body and Try On, Try On, Try On! Follow those in Annie Sez and you’ll find some great pieces. I have.

The Avenue– The best plus sized jeans. In fact, I think jeans are the only thing I go there for. They’re worth the trip because the fit is so good. Their skinny and straight legged jeans are my two go-to styles. I have a stack of each in the darkest wash and just alternate.

In all honesty, I’m sure that 85% of my wardrobe is from the stores I’ve listed above. The other fifteen percent comes from various websites I hit while shopping on my sofa. I’ll post up my favorite shopping sites for you tomorrow.

Are there any great stores I’m missing out on? Let me know!

xo,
Elle

Leave a Reply

